Read the Book – See the Movie

A hundred years ago, the book was the primary narrative. It transported readers to places that they’d probably never see and cultures that they’d never experience in their lives. The book was a window to another world in their hands.

Even today with our LCD, Flat screen, Smart phone, iPad screens, we still usually make visual associations when we read. This is a part of human psychology, people come in three flavors, visual, aural, or kinesthetic as they read and learn. That is, at first, do they see something, do they hear something or do they feel something? People who gravitate towards my books are either visual learners or my style brings that out in them.

Although my book holds true to the classic book format, I am told it’s a very visual read. “You know Tom, while I was reading your book I could see the movie.” is something I hear a lot. I am not sure that’s a good thing. Shouldn’t a book be a book, not a trailer for a movie coming to a theater near you. Or should it? Would a person one hundred years ago say, “Thomas, while I was reading your book I could see the oil painting.”? As we move towards more interactive ebooks, however, it will be only a short jump to reading a movie, instead of watching. This will be the the future fulfillment of the true interactivity of books. So, does the visual hash tag that I have been saddled with mean am I part of the first wave of iE-books? It’s only fiction, ‘til it happens.

As I’m finishing the third book of the ‘Thrillogy’, The God Particle, I am now very sensitive to the “Movie” comments, so I am trying to stay true to the classic book format, which I have no formal training in. My origins of narrative storytelling are in, wait for it… the screenplay business. When I am ‘book writing’, I now try to avoid talky, dialogue intensive, plot advancement and do more atmospherics and intention revelations, which is strange for a screenwriter. By minimizing dialogue, I hope the work will be as descriptive as possible and a pathway for the reader into the thought process of my characters, so that my books are more ‘literary’ than contemporary. What ever that means.

Leave a Reply

