Writing Tip # 4 Text, Subtext, pretext, context, supertext

Text Appeal

Text: “No, your honor, the sign said, ‘Fine for Parking,’ so I did.”
Subtext: Ignorance of the spirit of the law.
Pretext: This idiot got a parking ticket.
Context: This is happening in a courtroom.
Supertext: A law professor is giving an example of how words are at the heart of law.

As simple as the above is, it’s the basics and they never change.  Every line you write has these attributes.  They shouldn’t happen by accident.  If you know these for every sentence you are writing. The next beat, or scene becomes evident as you see these 5 tendrils emanating from the last. Also this helps you shape the dialog within these parameters.  If not, actions, dialogs or plot points may seem random or out of sync, kilter or motif for what you are writing.

Understanding this multi-dimensional impact of the text you write, will help your story-flow and character-polarity.

10 thoughts on “Writing Tip # 4 Text, Subtext, pretext, context, supertext

  1. Still the health concerns mar the overall positive sides of this
    economic growth as people take their health problems as the cost of development which is indeed pretty
    higher. Identify your own hair trouble and go for a product
    which mainly addresses your needs. Quality Omega 3 fish oils are generally
    derived from cold-water fishes like mackerel, sardines, salmon, and
    tuna. Yet, lack of moisture can also cause breakage,
    split-ends and brittle hair. Customers have always given Moroccan Oil products the highest ratings.

  2. Pingback: Elements of Literary Style… for Dummies | Tom Avitabile

  3. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for first-time blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • Everyone is an aspiring blog writer, always and forever. After three years, I still have no idea what a blog is, I just decided to write what I thought someone would like to read and made sure it was in less length than one of my novels. If you find out, please let me know.

      Tom

  4. Searching delicious.com I noticed your blog bookmarked as: Writing Tip # 4 Text, Subtext, pretext, context,
    supertext | Tom Avitabile. Now i’m assuming you book marked it yourself and wanted to ask if social book-marking gets you a large amount of targeted traffic? I’ve been looking at doing
    some social bookmarking for a few of my websites but wasn’t certain if it would yield any positive results. Thanks.

  5. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Studying this info So i am happy to express that I have a very excellent uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I most surely will make sure to don?t forget this website and provides it a look on a constant basis.

Leave a Reply

